Running and Re-Running Jobs

How to Run, Re-run, Retry and Replay Jobs

There are several ways to run and rerun jobs or job plans in RapidDeploy. Jobs can typically be run and re-run from the 'My Job Plans' panel, from the 'Resources' -> 'Projects -> [Selected Project] -> 'Targets' panel, or from the 'Jobs -> 'Previous Jobs'panel.

You can run new jobs, replay jobs that have already been run, or run rollback or retry jobs. Below we cover each of these scenarios.

Previous Pipeline Jobs

Pipeline Jobs List

The Previous Jobs Panel, showing the 'Pipeline Jobs' tab. Highlighed are the 'Play' button in red, the 'Retry' button in blue and the 'Backout' button in green.

1. Running a Project Job from the Project

You can run a job directly from within the project, for testing purposes. Go to 'Resources' -> 'Projects -> [Selected Project] -> 'Targets'. This is the simplest way to run a job. By default the latest release version is used for the job, but you can select other versions from the drop-down list. 

Select the 'Play' button from the action panel corresponding to the target you want to deploy to. In the screenshot shown, the play button for a target is highlighted with the red circle.

Click on the image to enlarge.

2. Running a Job from the New Job Plan Panel

You can run a one-off job or job plan from the 'New Job Plan' panel.  

  • Go to 'Jobs' -> 'New Job Plan'You will see a canvas as shown in the image.
  • Select the '(Empty)' Project Job box, double click it (or select the green 'Edit' button).
  • Choose the required Project from the list.
  • Choose the required Target from the list.
  • Choose the required Version from the list.
  • Add additional steps as required.
  • Click the 'Run' button to run this job once, or save it as a 'Job Plan' if you will be rerunning it with the same or different versions later.

Click on the image to enlarge.

3. Running a Job Plan from the 'My Job Plans' Panel

You can run a Job Plan from the 'My Job Plans' panel.  

  • Go to 'My Job Plans'. Choose the required plan from the list.
  • Either click the 'Play' button in the 'Action' panel for the required plan, or click on the plan name to go to the plan.
  • Inside the plan, select the 'Run' button in the bottom right hand corner to run the plan.

Click on the image to enlarge.

4. Re-running a Pipeline from the 'Previous Jobs' Panel

You can re-run a pipeline (but not a whole job plan) from the 'Previous Jobs' panel.  

  • Go to  'Jobs -> 'Previous Jobs' panel. Select the 'Pipeline Jobs' tab. Choose the required pipeline from the list.
  • The 'Actions' pane on the right hand side of the page has various options, which might be different depending on the state of the pipeline that ran. In the image at the top of this guide and to the right, there are 3 coloured circles showing different buttons.
    • The Red circled 'Play' button is used to start a completely new pipeline job, based on the selected one, from the beginning.
    • The Blue circled 'Retry' button is shown only for a failed pipeline. This allows for the pipeline execution to be restarted from the failure point, perhaps after some remedial actions have been taken.
    • The Green circled 'Rollback' button is active only when the pipeline completed successfully and has a 'Rollback' pipeline associated with it. Clicking this button will initiate the rollback.
  • Pipeline types are colour coded red for failure pipeline, blue for rollback pipeline and turquoise for a deployment pipeline.

Click on the image to enlarge.

5. Re-running a Job from the 'Previous Jobs' Panel

You can re-run a job from the 'Previous Jobs' panel.  

  • Go to  'Jobs -> 'Previous Jobs' panel. ​Select the 'Project Jobs' tab. Choose the required job from the list.
  • The 'Actions' pane on the right hand side of the page has various options, which might be different depending on the state of the job that ran. In the image to the right, there are 2 coloured circles showing different buttons.
    • The Red circled 'Rollback' button is active only when the job completed successfully. Clicking this button will initiate a rollback to the last previously successful version deployed to this target.
    • The Blue circled 'Play' button will rerun this job again.

Click on the image to enlarge.